Welcome to California

We left Vegas behind almost a week ago. And what an experience that was! Drinking on the street felt like we were being naughty, but since it was allowed we took it all in our stride 😉

I conquered my fear of heights (this is a massive lie!) by going on the tallest thrill ride in the world…

image

and enjoyed fantastic views of Hoover Dam and The Grand Canyon from a helicopter.

image

image

I could spend a lot of time talking about Vegas, but I feel the need to warn you about LA.

Los Angeles, the home of Hollywood. Known by some as tinsel town, labeled by me as run down, spread out and quite disappointing. I may be scarred for life by LA!

If you have ever been to Camden in London and loved it, I recommend you stay in Venice Beach.

image

The beach, during the day, is lovely. However within 24-hrs we saw a man playing a piano with his pet cat, watched people stuff $1bills in to a dogs bikini (there was a dog in an actual bikini!), were offered “special” cookies by a rasta, puzzled over a man carrying a massive box of marijuana on the bus and bewildered by a very very naked man walking across a zebra crossing. Seriously, you couldn’t make this stuff up!

It took us almost two hours to reach Hollywood via public transport. (It’s definitely somewhere you need a car to get around.) We managed to see the Hollywood sign:

image

Walk of Fame…

image

Rodeo Drive and Beverly Hills in one day. The best thing about LA (apart from leaving) was Universal Studios.

I love seeing how films and TV shows are put together so viewing the sets and being immersed in how certain movies were produced was AMAZING!

This is a little town in Mexico:

image

Then they made it rain and flooded it 🙂

image

We also saw what would happen in a plane crash… Or the set of War of the Worlds.

image

I should have probably done a whole post on Universal to give it the justice it deserves, but I’m about to drive to La Jolla so don’t have time. Sorry!

I’m now going to skip over the part where our hire car got towed and jump straight to San Diego. (Yes you did read that correctly).

The drive from LA to San Diego wasn’t too bad. I mean I hadn’t driven for over a year before we picked up our hire car, never driven an automatic or anything bigger than a Yaris, and hadn’t purposely driven on the wrong side of the road. Once I’d got my head round that and blocked out the seven lanes of potential disaster around me I was fine 😉

I’ll fill you in on San Diego when I’ve got more time but here are a few photos to give you an idea of what we’ve been up to so far.

Speak soon.
Lots of love,
Sx

San Diego Zoo:

image

image

image

San Diego Old Town:

image

image

image

image

Leave a comment